Digging in the Crates

I love finding old stuff I wrote….here’s one I found last night in a notebook

Each morning I wake up fighting it
Like a boxer trying to survive the final round
Just when I feel like I’m going to make it
I find myself embracing the ground
My loneliness has knocked me on my ass
Each day, getting up is harder than days past
I thought we had the possibility of forever
But it seems that only the pain will last
Every breath feels like my final one
Part of me welcomes the forthcoming end
I wish I could rewind my life
To stop this love affair before it begins
Crying is an exercise in futility
All it does is magnify the pain
Its like the world is basking in eternal sunshine
While I’m stuck in torrential rain
What’s strange is that I miss you more every day
Even though you shattered everything I previously was
At night I say in bed, longing
For another taste of your love
All I want is just one morning
Free from the struggle and fight
But I don’t have mornings like that anymore
Without you, nothing feels right

About Jamaal

Sporadic writer, avid reader, and lover of all things cinema. View all posts by Jamaal

Leave a comment